Wipes, Wipes and More Wipes…A DIY

photo

Homemade wipes…that was my focus yesterday.  As a Mama Frog of 6 Froglets, one of which is still in cloth diapers, this is an important thing to have.  However, this old Mama doesn’t like to use store bought wipes.   I prefer to make my own.   There are many different types of wipes out there, and I don’t mean Huggies Wipes versus the store brand.  I mean there are cleaning wipes, hand sanitizing wipes, baby wipes, window washing wipes, even TP wipes.  One thing about the Pond is that there are always chores to be done here.  The Froglets have chores that they do regularly, and they love to help their Mama Frog with her chores.   There is also nothing as satisfying to kids as being able to look back at a job well done.  (Isn’t that true of all of us!)  Wipes are a great way to let little ones help.  They can wash walls, table tops, stairrails etc…Also, it is summertime here on the Pond and summers mean dirty little feet.  Summers mean garden feet and beach feet, playground feet and lake feet.  It means camping feet and all around dirty little Frog feet.  Because the winters here are cold and long, as soon as its warm enough and dry enough EVERYONE around these parts breaks out the flipflops and sandals.  But if you are a Froglet, you know that bare feet in the summer are the best!

So, yesterday, I took my basic recipe for on the go baby wipes and also made cleaning wipes and dirty feet wipes.  All three of these wipes are safe for little ones to use, and gentle enough to be used by tiny hands and even on Tiny Tadpole.  I used Thieves Essential Oil and Lemon Essential Oil for the cleaning wipes, Lavender Essential Oil and coconut oil for the baby wipes and Ginger Essential Oil and Orange Essential Oil for the dirty feet wipes. WIN_20140606_162221 For each batch of wipes you need 1/2 roll of paper towels- I cut mine with a bread knife.  You can see it make the roll of paper towels the height of a roll of TP.   My sweet Froglets were so impressed that now their Mama was making rolls of toilet paper.  They were mildly disappointed when I showed them what I was really making.  You will also need 2 c. warm water, and essential oils.  The dirty feet wipes and the diaper wipes also contain a small amount of coconut oil.  You will also need an airtight container to keep your wipes in.  I like to use the “dry pitchers” from the dollar store.  I can get them in a variety of sizes which works well for me, and I love the flip top lid to pull the wipes through. WIN_20140606_162744 Normally when I make cleaning wipes, I use Thieves Essential Oil.  This time, I used a capful of the Young Living Thieves cleaner concentrate along with my lemon oil, but you can use straight lemon oil, lemon and lavender or do what I usually do and use lemon and Thieves oil.  All three blends will make a good cleaner.   I use my cleaning wipes for everything from walls and counters to bathroom fixtures and car interior.   To start, I add my water and oil to my container.  I typically use between 6-10 drops of essential oil per batch.  If I am making skin wipes, the coconut oil gets added at this point.  Once your liquid ingredients are all combined, drop your roll of paper towels into the water, turning it to soak up the liquid.  The first time this Mama made these wipes, I was skeptical that ALL the water would get sucked up, but it did. WIN_20140606_162321 I use the biggest container for making my wipes, then transfer them to the container that they will stay in.  You can certainly make your wipes in the same container that you plan to store them in. WIN_20140606_162824 When the liquid is all soaked up, pull the center tube out of the roll. WIN_20140606_162817 Just like storebought wipes, you will pull the wipes up from the center, so when you remove the tube, you can pull the very center wipe up. WIN_20140606_162839 Finished!

WIN_20140606_162609

Baby Wipe Recipe:

2 c. warm water

6 drops Lavender Essential Oil

2 T. coconut oil

1/2 roll of paper towels

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Cleaning Wipe Recipe:

2 c. warm water

5 drops Thieves Essential Oil

3 drops Lemon Essential Oil

–or–

2 c. warm water

1 capful of Thieves Cleaner Concentrate (available here)

3 drops Lemon Essential Oil

1/2 roll of paper towels

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dirty Foot Wipes

2 c. warm water

3 drops Orange Essential Oil

3 drops Ginger Essential Oil

2 T. coconut oil

1/2 roll of paper towels

Dirty Feet

Leave a Reply

