Crochet Beanbags- A Free Pattern

I realize from my delving into the Waldorf culture that most Waldorf toys are knitted.  This Mama Frog however does not knit.  What I do, is crochet.  Since we are adopting a hybrid Waldorf-inspired curriculum this year, especially for learning math, I decided that while I may not be able to provide my little Frogs with authentic Waldorf materials, I could at least inspire them with some Waldorf-inspired manipulatives.  One of the manipulatives I have been working on are rainbow colored beanbags.  Also on the list are Math Gnomes and a set of alphabet stones.  Not authentic Waldorf for sure, but my little Frogs don’t care, and I have decided neither do I.  Here at the Pond, we do the best we can with what we have.  Our focus is on fun, creative and learning, so we take what we like and can use and don’t worry so much about the things we don’t and can’t.  That being said, I thought perhaps, someone out there might have the same philosophy that we have, let’s call it the Philosophy of the Frogs for lack of a better term.  If that fits you, and you happen to crochet and happen to be looking for a square beanbag pattern for whatever reason, I have the pattern for you.  The beanbags I am making are nothing more than crocheted pockets filled with beans and stitched shut in a double row.  These particular beanbags will serve many purposes on our homeschooling journey, from color recognition to counting to games etc.  There is really no limit to their uses.

 

Materials:

Small amount of yarn (for the samples below I used Acrylic but any yarn could be used)

Hook to match yarn size

Needle large enough to sew end closed

Handful of beans or other filler

 

Directions:

Ch 15

1: SC in each chain until end, turn work and SC up opposite side

2-14: Working in the round SC around

Fill lightly with beans or other filler and stitch end closed.

 

Okay, hopefully lauding this as a free pattern doesn’t leave anyone feeling ripped off :).  I just wanted an easy and sturdy pouch for my beanbags.  These could be made any size by increasing beginning chain length and # of rows.  One word of caution is to make sure that your stitches are tight.  We had one of these actually make it through the washer and dryer and it seems to be no worse for the wear although I would show caution in washing them in a machine.  Spot washing would work much better I should imagine, although at the Pond, if an item is not sturdy and washable it doesn’t last too long.

 

DSC02365 2 filled beanbags and a yellow one, awaiting filling

 

DSC02366

Leave a Reply

